Relating to PR

Here we are, the last and final topic of the week for Case Studies and Issues in PR. I can’t believe how quickly five weeks has passed, and that I am heading into my final five weeks of school. Once done, I am ready and excited to embark on my new career in Public Relations. It only seems appropriate that the final Topic of the Week asks us to discuss what aspect of Public Relations interested me the most, and how I think my career will be informed by my new knowledge of Public Relations.

Communication Appreciation

Screen Shot 2013-07-20 at 7.49.06 AM

I would like to start out by saying that I LOVE PR! I have always fancied myself a communicator, but never fully thought that it was something I could do as a career. Throughout this year I have learned about so many aspects of PR, and more importantly, that PR is what I am meant to be doing. I would have to say that what interested me the most about PR is public speaking. I know what you’re thinking: “Public speaking?!?!? Are you nuts?!?”  Yes, loyal reader, I might just be….  All jokes aside, this year has given me many opportunities to try new things and focus on my strengths. I found that what I really thrived at was giving a presentation, or hosting an event. I loved going on TV and representing a cause, or having a mic in my hand feeling the pressure to perform. If I could I would bottle that feeling and sell it on the black market. It’s good sh*t.

 

Moving up and on

I think that this year has been a chance for me to put some tools in my hypothetical toolbox of life. I am not an expert in PR; however, I have a much better understanding of what I am heading into, and how to cope with my upcoming career change. One of the most important things I have learned is the need to research and have an overall understanding of what is going on with the people I am trying to communicate with. Although I am apt to focus on strategy and tactics, this year has taught me that all good strategies come from a solid foundation of research and understanding the audience I am trying to target.

And that, my friends, is pretty much it. I’d like to thank you for reading, and if you’re interested, invite you to read my upcoming blog called, “Like. Love. Marriage.” This blog will chronicle my journey through the wedding planning process and more importantly, my journey into “wife-dom.”

Until then, take care.

 

 

Categories: Case Studies, Public Relations | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

