An Ode to My BFF

bestfriend

My best friend is turning 30 tomorrow. I thought it might be nice to share a story from the “best friends vault” as a way to celebrate her, and our fabulous friendship.

I met Michelle (*name changed) in the 7th grade. I wish I could say that we were best friends from the get-go, but unfortunately this was not the case. In fact, I was so jealous of Michelle in the beginning, that I think it would be safe to say that I wasn’t very nice to her at all. She was easy-going and fun to be around, and all the guys seemed to enjoy her company. Me, I was more the annoying loud girl, with crooked teeth and home-cut bangs. Let’s just say the boys weren’t banging down my door….

I don’t remember how, or why, but Michelle and I became good friends over the course of grade 8. We did everything together. I was so grateful to have her in my life, as I was struggling in the friends category. However, at the end of grade 8, I was faced with the devastating news that Michelle and her family were moving to Ontario.

For the next 6 years, Michelle and I had a long distance friendship. We talked on the phone, sent letters to each other, and even got to visit each other from time to time. Her friendship was (and is) so special to me. Looking back, I am so proud that we were able to stay in such good contact, as the only distance between us were kilometres.

After her first year of university, Michelle, like many others, was struggling. School wasn’t a fit, and she was unsure what her next move was. After coming up with a plan, Michelle and I decided that I would fly down to Ontario to pick her up. We were going to pack up her car, and bring her back to Winnipeg. At the time, I was in a dead-end relationship, and wanted nothing more than to have my best friend by my side.

So, with little more than a good plan in mind, I set off to pick up Michelle in Cambridge, Ontario. Much to her parent’s chagrin, we packed up her little Honda Civic and headed back to Winnipeg.

That road trip was 8 years ago, and Michelle has lived in Winnipeg ever since. I have been blessed with 18 years of the most incredible friendship. We have been through highs and lows. She has seen me at my worst, and has celebrated with me at my best. I can laugh with her, cry with her, or just sit there in complete silence. We know what the other is thinking from a glance across the room. I would drop anything for her, and she has done the same for me.

So, as she heads into her thirties, with me right behind her, I am inclined to take a trip down memory lane. I couldn’t be more grateful to have a friend like her, and I will shout it from the roof tops how important she is to me. I can’t wait to see what the next thirty years are going to bring us. Life is much easier with a best friend by your side.

Happy 30th Birthday, Best Friend. You are a beautiful, smart and dynamic woman. I will continue to stand by you on this life journey, as I am your #1 supporter and fan.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

